Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Chillicothe Campus faculty and staff members recognized for outstanding service

Ohio University-Chillicothe faculty and staff members were recognized by their colleagues for outstanding service during a recent luncheon on campus.

Those who were honored include:

Mary Barbara Trube, Ed.D., Outstanding Faculty Award. Trube was recognized for outstanding teaching, scholarship and service. She has contributed to OU-C, and Ohio University as well as state, national and international initiatives in teacher education. Of particular note are her contributions in mentoring to prepare students across Ohio University’s campuses for their Ohio Resident Educator License  and her work with Childhood Education International’s (CEI) Global Guidelines’ initiatives that prepare professionals for international teaching and mentoring. Two recent chapters in Common Characteristics and Unique Qualities in Preschool Programs – Global Perspectives in Early Childhood Education, in the Springer series entitled Educating the Young Child, focus on Trube’s international outreach.

She has collaborated with English immersion and EFL educators in China for more than 12 years, resulting in partnerships and several publications.

Trube describes herself as a life-long learner. Her academic preparation in Ohio and Texas universities spans five decades. Her doctoral degree is from The University of Texas at Austin. She joined the OU-C faculty in 2002.

Michael Lafreniere, Faculty Award for Creativity in the Classroom. In 2011, Lafreniere earned a highly competitive 1804 Grant from the Ohio University Foundation for the development of a “collaboratory,” which promotes collaboration between faculty and students in multiple disciplines. The project utilizes technology in a way to further engage faculty and students across campus and across the curriculum.

This effort uses existing campus computer lab resources in conjunction with tablets and interactive classroom software to enhance the students’ learning experience.

In 2012, he earned a “Best of 2011 Ed Tech Resources” award for his use of online assessment tools. He delivers talks on his work regularly, including a presentation he gave in collaboration with Ohio University-Athens campus colleague Gregory D. Foley at the American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges annual conference in Austin, Texas.

Lafreniere, an associate professor, teaches environmental engineering and mathematics courses. He joined the OU-C faculty in 1994, and he earned both his bachelor’s degree and master’s degree from the University of Florida.

Norma Jean Beverly, Staff Outstanding Service Award. Beverly is a member of the student services team in her position as records management coordinator. A graduate of Chillicothe High School, she has attended OU-C and joined the Chillicothe Campus community in 1983 as a records management associate. She was previously employed at Rubbermaid Industry.

She has been previously named employee of the month, and she is a certified harassment intake officer and a notary.

As her nominator noted, “Students seeking financial aid assistance call and ask for her by name because she is so helpful and thorough. Students often said that she treats them like a person and not another nuisance … she has a kind word for everyone and consistently displays professionalism.”

Ila Hennig, Adjunct Faculty Appreciation Award. Hennig brings a wealth of international travel and classroom experience to her role as an adjunct Spanish language instructor.

She has participated in study abroad trips to Mexico, Puerto Rico, Costa Rica, Spain and France. Further, she has worked with Operation Smile in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, translating for surgeons as well as having spent a week at Prince of Peace Home for Girls in Guatemala City, Guatemala. This summer she will travel with doctors from Adena Health System to work with people on the Amazon River in Peru.

Hennig was an international language teacher in area schools for more than 30 years, retiring in May 2013 after spending the last 23 years at Adena High School.

She earned her bachelor's degree from the University of Kentucky and her master's degree in curriculum and instruction from Ashland University. Additionally, she has studied at Instituto Tecnologico y de Estudios Superiores in Monterrey, Mexico and in Spain.

Individuals were nominated by fellow campus employees and students, while final selections were made by the Staff Development Committee. Members include Jonna Depugh, Cheri Hoffman, Brenda Miller, Vicky Parker and Sally Timmons.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Congratulations, Barbara Trube!!