Wednesday, June 15, 2016

2016 class of Gates Foundation-Ross County Scholars is announced

Scholarship directors talk with OU-C Dean Martin Tuck.

14 area students use fund to pursue their college ambitions

This year’s recipients of The Gates Foundation – Ross County Scholar’s Fund have been announced. Fourteen students received the scholarships.

In 2004, Chillicothe native Larry A. Gates and his wife, Mary, established the scholarship fund to pave the way to a college education for students graduating from Ross County high schools. This is the 13th class to benefit from the scholarship fund, which will eventually total approximately $10 million. A total of 10 of the 14 recipients who will attend college in 2016-17 will pursue their college goals at Ohio University. Of those 10 students, eight will attend the Athens campus and two students will attend the Chillicothe campus of Ohio University.

The scholarships are intended to help offset the cost of an undergraduate college education not covered by financial aid and/or scholarships.

Since the scholarship fund’s inception, more than 160 scholarships have been awarded. The endeavor has been an unquestioned success, with many former recipients already advancing in their career fields and several scholarship recipients going on to pursue master’s degrees after earning their bachelor’s degrees.

It has been a labor of love for the scholarship fund’s founders, with success measured on criteria that go beyond the numbers.

“Mary and I began the foundation because of our strong belief in young people, and that trust has been reinforced by the young people who have earned these scholarships over the years,” Larry Gates said.

The endeavor has been a rousing success in realizing its intended outcome – opening doors of opportunity for area individuals to pursue their dreams and turn their passions into their professions. The scholarship fund puts in motion the true value of a college education.

Gates Foundation directors include Nicole McLaughlin, Michelle Shanholtzer, Matthew Haller, Kimberly Hirsch, Nancy Harris and Valerie Miller.

Selection criteria for the scholarship include potential to succeed in college as determined by high school grades and college entrance scores, letters of reference and financial need.  The scholarships are renewable for up to an additional three years for those who continue to qualify. Students may attend the college or university of their choices.  

Mr. Gates is a retired executive with Philip Morris Companies.

The donor-advised fund is administered by The Ohio University Foundation, the private fundraising arm of the university.

More information on The Gates Foundation-Ross County Scholar's Fund is available online at

2016 The Gates Foundation – Ross County Scholars
The new recipients include:
Student        High School        University/College
Hallie Barnhart    Zane Trace HS    Ohio University
Mailia Berry         Chillicothe HS        Ohio University
Tyler Carroll         Southeastern HS     Ohio University-Chillicothe
Justin Dye        Southeastern HS     Ohio University

The renewed recipients include:

Student                 University/College

Cassidy Lynn                Ohio University-Chillicothe
Ali McCracken            Ohio University
Katie McMahon             Ohio University
Casaundra Parker            Ohio State University
Courtney Parker            Ohio State University
Olivia Payne                Ohio University
Abbey Perry                 Shawnee University
Jullian Pontius             Ohio University
Christopher Sabin             Ohio University
Izabella Timmons             University of Findlay

No comments: