Wednesday, March 15, 2017

OUC to honor Ross County's trail blazing women

The Ohio University Chillicothe’s Giving Circle will pause to pay tribute to eight Ross County trail
blazing Women for women’s history month.

The women will be honored for their achievements in their field on Thursday, March 23, 3017 at 6:00 pm in the Patricia Scott Art Gallery in Bennett Hall at Ohio University Chillicothe.

The 2017 women includes:
·       Andrianne D’Souza, the first women NACCP President
·       Velma Kell, for her work with veterans and philanthropic projects at Walnut Street Church
·       Queen Lester, for her community involvement through the years
·       Mary MacCarter, for her volunteer work in the health field
·       Patricia Medert, for her work as a local author on the history of Chillicothe;
·       Margaret Planton, former mayor of Chillicothe and for her contributions to the city
·       Muriel Weaver, for her devotion to the arts in the area
·       Amey VanVoorhis, for her work initiating media as part of instruction in the schools

Join OUC for dinner and celebrate with Ross County’s trail blazers as well as other women across the community. Reservations are due on Friday, March 18, 2017. 

$25 includes dinner and a contribution to the OUC Giving Circle Scholarship. Please make checks available to OU Foundation, Attention Joyce Atwood, 101 University Drive, Chillicothe, Ohio 45601. For more information, contact Joyce Atwood at or at 740.774.7732.

No comments: